Harley Card's Sunset Ensemble

Lula Lounge
TD Discovery Series Special Projects
Thu Mar 1 7:00pm
Ticket Price: 
$15 in advance / $20 at the door
Ticket Information: 
Tickets available at the door. Dinner reservations guarantee seating.

Harley Card's Sunset Ensemble presents new music written for jazz octet.

The group’s name is a homage to the Tom Thompson painting "1915 Sunset Clouds". Thompson's contribution to art in Canada is staggering, considering he only painted from age 30 until his untimely and mysterious death at age 39. Much like the great musicians from Ontario in the 20th century, Thompson's iconic paintings were specific to this region of the country. His range of expression in colour had roots in the work of Van Gogh, but his ability to epitomize the experience of central Canadian landscapes was his own. The Sunset Ensemble was formed to pursue greater depths in expression of colour and textural scope.

Alexander Brown, trumpet & flugel horn
Perry White, tenor sax & flute
Ted Crosby, bass clarinet & flute
Karl Silveira, trombone
Harley Card, guitar
Matt Newton, rhodes piano
Dan Fortin, bass
Lorenzo Castelli, drums

A TD Discovery Series Special Project

The Sunset Ensemble is a new initiative by Harley Card and David French, the leader/guitarist and saxophonist from Harley’s long standing quintet. After releasing three albums as a quintet over a career spanning twelve years, David and Harley had the idea to extend the band with the addition of some horn players who could help accent the different styles and influences expressed by the quintet, and help to broaden the palette of textures available for orchestration Alexander Brown (trumpet), Ted Crosby (saxophone), and Karl Silveira (trombone) all have unique gifts as musicians that share a kinship with the members of Harley’s quintet in different ways. So far, David and Harley have revisited some older material in Harley’s catalogue and written some fresh arrangements, but they already have many new ideas about the directions that the ensemble can move, including special guests and featuring the composing and arranging of other members of the band: David, Matt Newton (piano), and Dan Fortin (bass), all prolific composers in their own right.